Life is awesome. Join me for the journey!

“In your opinion, what is the meaning of life?” a good friend recently asked me.  Her question caught me off guard.  “Jeez, I don’t know!” But as she shrugged and waited for an answer, I forced myself to really think about it.

 After a minute or so, I came up with an idea.  “I think we are here to enjoy and appreciate our blessings, to grow as individuals, and to be a blessing to others.”
Age 0.1. "Dear God, please bless my son in every way, and let him grow up to be the man that you planned for him to be."

Age 0.1. “Dear God, please bless my son in every way, and let him grow up to be the man that you planned for him to be.”

I must say I’m glad my friend forced me to reflect on this “impossible” question.  In the end, it was quite simple.  I guess it’s been my creed all along, and it’s what has inspired me to start this blog, Super Padre Life.
"These cookies are going to be awesome!"

Age 8. “These cookies are going to be awesome!”

My mom says I was born to be teacher.  At age five I was coaching a friend with pronunciation and quizzing kids on the soccer field.  In high school I started giving art and Spanish lessons, and by age 21 I was teaching high school Spanish.  All the while I never actually aspired to be a teacher–teaching chose me.  Suddenly teaching was my life (for better or for worse).  It became my main creative outlet, my passion, my second nature.
Age 16. Still confined to living under the oppressive control of my loving parents. Hobbies included drawing, music, chatting on AIM, learning languages, non-conforming, and wishing I were an adult.

Age 16. Still confined to living under the oppressive control of my loving parents. Hobbies included drawing, music, chatting on AIM, learning languages, non-conforming, and wishing I were an adult.

Age 19. Hobbies include: eating as much as possible, half-assing college, perfecting my Spanish, reminiscing about my childhood and dreaming about my future.

Age 19. Hobbies included: eating as much as possible, half-assing college, perfecting my Spanish, reminiscing about my childhood and dreaming about my future.

Age 23. "Crap...this grownup stuff is really hard. Better make the most it!"

Age 23. “Crap…this grownup stuff is really hard. Better make the most it!”

I recently transitioned from full time Spanish teacher to full time dad–a journey that has been exhilirating and challenging, liberating yet isolating.  It is without a doubt the most rewarding, taxing and important teaching position one can have–one that isn’t measured in semesters or confined to a classroom.  I have found immense joy in watching my son grow and learn.  I love filling his world with fun educational experiences and giving him a foundation for a lifetime of learning.  Yet this 24/7 job has quickly made me recognize my own intrinsic need to invest in myself–both personally and professionally–while being the best father and husband I can be.  I love being a dad, but I love it even more when it’s not my only identity in life.

So if I’m not just a dad, who am I?

I’m a husband, a son, a teacher, and a life-long learner.  I’m a die-hard food lover who gets a thrill out of new culinary adventures.  I have a passion for language and culture, and I’m raising my son to be bilingual.  I am an amateur artist, who, according to some, specializes in “demented” doodles.  I am a sensitive guy inspired by the unspeakable beauty of our world and the amazing power of love.  I am sometimes goofy, sometimes serious, but always myself.
"This meal is going to be awesome!"

“This meal is going to be awesome! Healthy, delicious, and visually stunning!”

In a way, Super Padre Life is my new classroom.

It’s place for me to be me, to exercise my creativity and share what inspires me.  Recipes, activities, and reflections about life–my content will draw on personal experiences, my background as an educator, and my many passions in life.  This blog will grow and change as I do, and I hope my readers will find my posts interesting, entertaining, and even inspiring.

 
Super Padre Life will be organized in three main categories: 
  • Food (recipes, kitchen tips, culinary exploration and cooking with kids)
  • Fun stuff (Crafts, games, educational activities and other fun stuff for all ages)
  • My thoughts (reflections on life, parenting, and what inspires me)

“Super Padre” means “Awesome” in Mexican Spanish.  While my my life isn’t extravagant, am blessed to have a great one.  And while I will never claim to be “Super Dad”, I try to be the best father I can be.  Super Padre Life is my next step in this awesome life, and I hope you will join me for the adventure!

Age 28. Simon, Ellis, and me (Robbie, papá, etc). "Life is seriously so awesome. How did I get so lucky?"

Age 28. Simon, Ellis, and me.
“How did I get so lucky?”

I hope to reach as many people as possible and really get to know my readers.  Please do not hesitate to comment, give feedback and ask questions.  Also, remember to comment, like, share, and subscribe to get an e-mail alert for each of my weekly posts!

Is there anything in particular you’d like to hear about? Let me know!

-Robbie

14 comments

  1. Robbie,
    Lucky enough to be a person that has known you since the day you arrived on this earth, I have to tell you I have a catch in my throat when I write this and read your thoughts on life.
    You are such a creative and intuitive individual?I can tell exactly from which parent each one of your traits derives? A great combo.
    I am thrilled you have decided to share your life and thoughts with the world.I think it could be very helpful to other young parents and foodies alike.You have lots to share and will in turn learn lots from others thru the process.
    Love the drawings ( your Mom).Wish you fun and much inspiration.
    Xoxox
    Aunt Geri

  2. Love love love your blog! Didn’t want to stop reading! Your doodles are wonderful too! Keep your blog a comin! Much love to you, Simon and Ellis! Pam

  3. I am enjoying your blog. Love the illustrations, insight, love, recipes. Everything in fact. Your mom and dad have raised an amazing man. Your love of life, of Simon and Ellis shows in every word. ❤️

Leave a Reply

